Arbutus, London

Recently I was clearing some of the pictures on my mobile phone and came across this (blurred) photo of the Arbutus lunch menu I took last March. It left me feeling nostalgic and not a little hungry.

arbutus_1

I regret not getting any photos of our lunch now. I started the meal with “Braised pigs head with potato puree & caramelized onions“, followed by “Saddle of rabbit with shoulder cottage pie & roast onions“. The pigs head was served as a warm terrine, very tasty but with an unusual texture. The rabbit dish was delicious; I loved the quirky ‘cottage pie’ made from the darker shoulder meat. Herself ordered the “Salad of fresh sheeps ricotta, roast squash & hazelnuts” followed by “Caillettes of pork with carrots & potato puree“. The ‘Caillettes’ are described on the menu as ‘old fashioned meatballs'; tasty and very substantial. The ricotta salad was also delicious with some interesting textures. We finished the meal with a zingy lemon tart for me, and a nougat ice-cream for her. Very impressive.

I’ll get photos next time!

Verdict: 9/10

Arbutus on Urbanspoon

Arbutus [website]
63-64 Frith Street, London W1D 3JW
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

