Delhi Club, Hong Kong

Chungking Mansions is a strange and scary place. It’s like a dingy, high-rise rabbit warren populated with hostels, restaurants and shops. Very popular with backpackers, you can purchase almost anything here: a snack, currency, pirated DVDs. The guide books often describe it as a fire trap; indeed a fire did break out here in 1988 killing a Danish tourist.

We were intrigued to see it for ourselves and decided to check out a restaurant called “Delhi Club”. The Lonely Planet guide to Hong Kong describes this place as “pretty flash by Chungking Mansions standards”. Pretty flash is good enough for me.

I do try to eat local food when I travel, but I don’t feel guilty about eating a curry in Hong Kong; any who’s been there will know about the huge Indian population in Kong Kong, particularly in Kowloon.

delhi_club_4

I rarely notice the decor when I sit down to a meal, but even I couldn’t  fail to take this place in. The ceilings are really low, and you’re in danger of getting a tan from the lights. Needless to say, the lighting doesn’t flatter the food, but I enjoyed the place. There was a great buzz and the staff are really friendly. We ordered a selection of Indian dishes, delighted that we were finally having a meal in Chungking Mansions.

delhi_club_1

delhi_club_2

delhi_club_3

Benares it ain’t, but if you’re looking for a good-quality introduction to dining in Chungking Mansions (and fancy a curry), I’d recommend the Delhi Club.

Delhi Club

Flat C3, 3rd Floor, C Block, Chungking Mansion, 36-44 Nathan Roadm Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong

