Quick Pasta

basil_1

I’ve been craving pasta lately. It must be from looking through the great pasta recipes on italian foodies recently. I’ve never thought of pasta as hangover food, but when I woke up just before noon today with “a bastard behind the eyes“, pasta was the only thing I contemplated making. Something rich and comforting…

This simple recipe relies very much on “store cupboard” ingredients. I fried some diced pancetta in a little oil until crispy. I then added a clove of garlic that was pounded with some sea salt using a mortar and pestle. (Pounding garlic with salt, rather than chopping it, makes a huge difference to food.) I added a small tub of double cream (about 200ml), a tablespoon of good pesto from a jar (for shame!) and a couple of handfuls of grated Parmesan cheese. I then added some hot pasta and a few grinds of black pepper.

I can think of few meals from my own repertoire that offer as great a reward for such little effort. Time spent? About 15 minutes from start to finish. The mind boggles as to why people buy this shit.

4 Responses to “Quick Pasta”


  1. 1 italian foodie April 21, 2009 at 12:16 am

    Thanks for the link Conor:) Don’t get me started on Dolmio, I could be here for a while. Nowt wrong with a jar of pesto, there is a shop in Limerick called Olio e Farina that do an excellent ligurian pesto in a jar. Depends on the brand and quality me thinks!

  2. 2 Conor April 21, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Good to hear you say that. I sometimes feel a little guilty for using “jar” pesto. But if it’s going in a soup or in a pasta sauce, I’m not sure it’s worth the effort or expense. Maybe one day I’ll do my own taste test! 🙂

  3. 3 Sophie May 5, 2009 at 8:11 am

    I eat food like this all the time! It is yummie but I substitute the cream for soy cream because it is more healthy & contains no cholesterol& it is more lighter on the stomach.
    Thanks for commenting on my food blog so that I could discover yours!!!!


Comments are currently closed.




