The Parlour Restaurant, Fortnum & Mason, London

I was foaming at the mouth, struggling to carry my various boxes of tea, assorted biscuits and fudge. When I start giving the ‘glad eye‘ to a box of champagne truffles which cost a mere £25, my significant other threatened to call the police and have me forcibly removed. I reluctantly accepted there was a recession on and put the champagne truffles back. Maybe next time.

fortnums_1

In case you hadn’t guessed, “Fortnums” is my favourite shop in the world and my credit card still bears the scorch marks. After all that shopping, we were in sore need of some refreshment. Too early for afternoon tea in Fortnum’s “St. James’s Restaurant”, we adjourned to “The Parlour Restaurant”. Afternoon tea is not served in the Parlour but I was determined to cobble together some dishes that made me feel like I was having afternoon tea!

Bagel

Scones

We settled on a “smoked salmon & cream cheese bagel” for me, and a “Welsh rarebit with tomato chutney” for her. We also ordered a pot of “Fountain Blend” tea, at a very unreasonable £5. Afternoon tea wouldn’t be the same without scones so we shared a plate of those too. Everything we ordered was excellent quality, particurly the jam and clotted cream which accompanies the scones. I was quite taken aback by the austere presentation of the bagel, a lettuce leaf would not go astray here methinks.

The Parlour Restaurant

The Parlour Restaurant,
Fortnum & Mason,
181 Piccadilly, London W1A 1ER
http://www.fortnumandmason.com
1 Response to “The Parlour Restaurant, Fortnum & Mason, London”


  1. 1 Sophie May 7, 2009 at 7:54 am

    Mmmmmm…..the food looks lovely! When I go on holiday to London, my husband & I always stop at Fortnum & Masons, it is all about nostalgia! Thanks for this!


Comments are currently closed.




