Spaghetti Aglio, Olio E Pepperoncino

Spaghetti

As part of my continuing efforts to work my way through every one of Italian Foodie’s recipes (!), I had a go at the rather exotic sounding “Spaghetti Aglio, Olio E Pepperoncino“. This roughly translates as “Spaghetti with garlic, oil and chili“. The recipe is as simple as it sounds – just gently heat some good extra-virgin olive oil, lightly colour the sliced garlic, then add some finely-chopped red chili and fresh flat-leaf parsley. Add some good quality spaghetti to the sauce (as the Italians do) and serve with plenty of grated Parmesan cheese. Very tasty and makes a great change from “red sauce”. Check out Lorraine’s recipe here. Thanks once again Lorraine!

5 Responses to “Spaghetti Aglio, Olio E Pepperoncino”


  1. 1 italian foodie May 20, 2009 at 11:51 pm

    hahaha I’ll have to start paying you for all these links and posts:) This is actually one of my favourite pasta dishes after linguine with clams! So easy and so much flavour! To change it a little you can add some anchovies and breadcrumbs – really nice addition!

  2. 2 Conor May 21, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Oh yeah! I’ll send you on my bank details! 😉

    I like the sound of the breadcrumbs. I think there’s something similar in one of Jamie Oliver’s books, I must dig it out.

  3. 3 reddhouse July 31, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    When you write ‘finely-chopped red chili’, what kind/name of chili are you using?

  4. 5 Deb September 5, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    I tried this meal at Stella Trattoria’s Restaurant in North Denver. It is the best pasta meal!! You can also request it with chicken and it is spectacular.


Comments are currently closed.




