Rocket, Carrots & Beetroot

Carrots & Beetroot

I was determined to prove Jamie Oliver wrong. He maintains I have the ability to grow “pukka” herbs and vegetables in containers on my balcony. The fact remains, I’ve never grown anything successfully, certainly nothing edible. Mother Nature seems to be smiling on my tiny vegetable garden, however. Despite the late sowing, my carrots, beetroot, rocket and basil (not pictured) are shooting up. I only see now that I sowed the carrots and beetroot way too thickly in this small pot, and that I’ll have serious thinning to do, provided it all keeps growing. I must now get my hands on some plant food. It’s tough being a gardener.

I’ve got some serious plans for this stuff and I’m starting to see what all the fuss is about with this gardening lark. Ah, the possibilities…

Rocket

6 Responses to “Rocket, Carrots & Beetroot”


  1. 1 aoife mc July 2, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Hi Conor – I can completely relate to the ‘everyone can grow herbs on their balcony’ complex. I fear that I may be toxic to plants and herbs as everything that I’ve ever attempted just wilts in a miserable and depressed foliage sort of way.

    I’ve got a few strawberry plants out on the balcony that are doing ok at the moment…perhaps I’ll have one or two little strawberries sometime next year. I’d get major satisfaction from that.

    Anyway, your rocket, carrots and beetroot really are looking great. Keep us posted (gosh, no pun intended, honestly) on how they get on.

  2. 2 Conor July 2, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    Cheers Aoife. All this rain and warmth is sending my container garden MAD with growth. Happy days. I’ve got a couple of strawberry plants on the balcony too. As soon as they turned ripe, we “harvested” our crop (about 3 strawberries!). I have to say though, they were literally the sweetest strawberries I’ve ever tasted.

    It remains to be seen whether I can make a go of this gardening lark, somehow I don’t think my efforts are going to keep body and soul together. But sure, it keeps me off the streets. 🙂

  3. 3 dee July 4, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    I brought some herbs in pots back from ballymaloe and have just sowed some beetroot too in the hopes its not too late so will be keeping an eye on your balcony growing progress too!

  4. 4 Conor July 5, 2009 at 10:44 am

    Cool, cheers for that Dee. Best of luck with your beetroot. Any plans for yours? I’m thinking a nice beetroot soup, if they ever grow.

  5. 5 dee July 7, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    anything but pickled I think! I love roast beetroot so would happily sit eating them that way with some goats cheese all day long!

  6. 6 Conor July 7, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    Roasted sounds good Dee. I have some borscht in mind also, or maybe just some beetroot soup. I won’t count my beetroot until they’ve eh, hatched…


Comments are currently closed.




