“Pizza Hut” Garlic Bread

garlic_bread_1

Bit tacky for a food blog? Hmm, perhaps. Give me home-made pizza any day. But I must admit, I’ve been known to visit Pizza Hut. I also happen to be rather partial to their garlic bread. I discovered that the elusive secret to their recipe is plenty of seasoning a good pinch of dried oregano. And you know what? It tastes almost identical to me. Even if you’re not a Pizza Hut fan, give it a try, it’s the best garlic bread you will ever taste! I never make it any other way.

Ingredients

  • 1 baguette (or 4 small rolls)
  • 150g butter
  • 1 clove garlic
  • dried oregano
  • salt & pepper

Method

  1. Make sure your butter is really soft. To achieve this, just leave your butter out of the refrigerator at night.
  2. Make a paste from the clove of garlic and some rock salt, then add to the butter. Use a mortar and pestle for this, or grind on a chopping board with a knife. It’s very important not to have huge lumps of garlic in your butter.
  3. Season with a little salt and plenty of freshly ground black pepper and a shake of dried oregano. Mix well.
  4. Slice your baguette and spread each slice liberally with the garlic butter. Toast under a hot grill until golden. It will smell and taste amazing.

garlic_bread_2

7 Responses to ““Pizza Hut” Garlic Bread”


  1. 1 adel July 6, 2009 at 2:12 am

    nice!u know Aldi does quite good part baked mini baguettes, I think I might just use this garlic bread recipe on those 🙂 cheers!

  2. 2 Conor July 6, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    Cool, I’ve never bought bread from Aldi, I’ll give them a try next time i’m in there. Hope you enjoy the bread.

  3. 3 italian foodie July 6, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    NOW when it comes to pizza hut I am a snob:) It’s funny my dad loves his garlic bread this way, I have tried to change him over to the Italian way of our home-made bread rubbed with the garlic clove, olive oil and flat leaf parsley but no way. When he comes into the shop for carbonara with fettucine and extra extra cream he has to have his garlic bread on a baguette from the shop next door with garlic and butter…… We have a huge menu and he eats the same thing every time for the last 6 years. There’s no changing some people:)

  4. 4 Conor July 6, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    Well Lorraine, I’ve absolutely NO problem with snobbery when it comes to food! I have some very stuck-up ideas about tea, for example. I get that from my late grandmother, who never used a teabag in her life.

    I love the garlic-rubbed bread too, but there’s something …. austere about it. The American/Irish style garlic bread, dripping with butter, seems so much more indulgent. Give your dad a plate of that lemon and rocket tagliatelle, he’ll soon change his mind! 🙂

  5. 5 aoife mc July 9, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Looks like we have another guilty pleasure! I really like Pizza Hut too. But I also really like Eddie Rockets so….I’ve no taste.

    I like Lorraine’s type of garlic bread the best but I’m not totally against this kind either! It reminds me of being a teenager when it was such a treat to get Pizza Hut 🙂

  6. 6 Conor July 9, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    There’s always room for a bit of tack! Eddies is grand, but seriously overpriced considerign it’s just birger and chips IMO. I’m partial to Pizza Hut’s Deep Pan, I gotta say. Not exactly the healthiest meal in the world though!


  1. 1 "Old El Paso" Fajita Spice Recipe | Toasted Special Trackback on October 8, 2009 at 1:42 pm
Comments are currently closed.




