Irish Griddle Bread Recipe

Bread making doesn’t get any simpler than this. (Oh dear, I’m starting to sound like those clowns on Masterchef). Griddle bread, as it’s known in my house, is a simple soda bread dough, but instead of being cooked in the oven, you cook it slowly on a non-stick frying pan or a cast-iron “griddle”. This is quite a traditional bread and is a great standby when you haven’t a scrap of granary left in the house. One warning though, once you cut this loaf you’ll keep going back to it until you’ve none left. It’s addictive!

I like my griddle bread “well done”. Cook gently until the surface of the bread is starting to blacken in places. As the bread cools, it gives off the most amazing toasty aromas. There’s something about it that reminds me of cream crackers. Surely not a bad thing?

For a traditional Irish bread that’s baked in the oven, try my Irish Soda Bread recipe.

griddle_bread_1

Ingredients

  • 2 cups self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • buttermilk, enough to make a very soft dough (about 250ml-300ml, as a guide)

Method

Sift the flour and salt into a large mixing bowl, then add the buttermilk and mix gently until you have a soft, wet dough, but be careful it is not too “sloppy”. Heat a dry frying pan, then turn down the heat low and dust the pan with plain flour. Wet your hands then add the doughto the pan. Gently smooth out the dough to cover the pan then cook slowly on both sides until brown patches start to develop. This should take at least 8 minutes on each side. Cool on a wire rack.

Coat with plenty of salty butter and enjoy, this is great with your Saturday morning fry-up.

griddle_bread_2

21 Responses to “Irish Griddle Bread Recipe”


  1. 1 Siobhan July 9, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Oh this takes me back, I haven’t had griddle bread in years! Add this to the fact that despite my years of baking, I’ve never actually made bread (*gasp*). This could just be the recipe to help me overcome my fears! 🙂

  2. 2 Conor July 9, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    Hi Siobhan. Go on, give it a try!! Let me know how you get on.

  3. 3 Daily Spud July 9, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    You’ve reminded me of precisely how long it is since I’ve had griddle bread, which is to say too long. I must needs remedy that…

  4. 4 s. stockwell July 9, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    This is something we have never experienced?? We will give it a spin? thanks, s

  5. 5 Laura July 9, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    I love this idea! I just made soda bread for the first time for St. Patricks Day and loved it.. what a clever idea… thanks!

  6. 6 Cookin' Canuck July 9, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    What an interesting recipe! I have never tried griddle bread, but am looking forward to making it.

  7. 7 TriploidTree July 13, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    A few months back, I started griddle cooking my yeast breads (in small batches, they turn out like farls) It’s a great way to cook small amounts of dough fast. And perfect for breakfast sized amounts of jam and butter holders.

  8. 9 Amy April 6, 2010 at 5:42 am

    Wow! This was ridiculously easy and i can’t believe how good it tastes! The finished product is just beautiful. Also, if you don’t have buttermilk on hand you can add a dash of vinegar to milk and let it stand for a few minutes to make your own sour milk. And no self-rising flour? Just add a tsp of baking powder. I have made it multiple times since I found it a month ago.

  9. 10 jodie April 14, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    have been searching for this recipie for a long time. my grandmother from armagh used to make this bread for us as kids, so it has a taste of chidhood for me. MMmmmmm

  10. 12 Shirley April 18, 2010 at 10:58 am

    where can I purchase a round griddle pan with handle to make soda farls. I remember my gran having a cast iron one and a metal one (modern) with a collapsible handle.

  11. 13 Patricia April 18, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    I haven’t made soda bread for about 20 years. My mother-in-law taught me and I still have her old griddle, so now that I have a bit of time on my hands again I’ll give it a shot. Our favourite was fruit soda with loads of butter and mabe even a bit of cheese. Better not tell the kids though or I’ll be invaded.

    Patricia

  12. 14 zed May 18, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    can i use a normal frying pan, non stick on a low heat?

    my mom used to make it with just water and flour nothing else..
    if you put raisins in the mix its soooooooo good, drooltastic.
    i wonder if you could do it with banana… hm

    please answer my question.
    z

  13. 16 Martin September 29, 2010 at 9:54 am

    My daughter is 6yo I’m going to give her a taste of the bread
    i loved when i was growing up.

    Regards,

    Martin.

  14. 17 denis hayes December 13, 2011 at 12:30 am

    Hi, thanks for the recipe, my auntie Lena used to bake the griddlecake for us as kids. I tried it a couple of times without sucess…until now…beautiful, not quite there yet but not far off. I bake sour dough here in Germany and at last I got to grips with Lenas griddlecake….hope the neighbours dident smell it…better lock the door….dinny


  1. 1 Irish Soda Bread - Recipe | Toasted Special Trackback on December 28, 2009 at 5:01 am
  2. 2 Cottageology » Blog Archive » Reasons to love Ireland – Soda Bread - All about Irish Cottages… Trackback on April 28, 2010 at 8:44 pm
  3. 3 Irish Brown Soda Bread | Toasted Special Trackback on August 13, 2010 at 11:31 pm
  4. 4 How to make Buttermilk | Toasted Special Trackback on October 7, 2010 at 9:49 am
Comments are currently closed.




