Tagliatelle with Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto & Mascarpone

It’s pasta time again. I’m hopelessly addicted to Italian Foodies’ sun-dried tomato pesto recipe. I’ve been making it pretty regularly of late, and for the first time today I found I had some left over. Shocking, I know. Happily, I also had some leftover mascarpone in the fridge, so I came up with this. You probably don’t need the can of tomatoes, just mix the pesto with the mascarpone, but I think it works rather well. Give it a try.

Pasta with Sun-Dried Tomato & Mascarpone

Ingredients

  • fresh tagliatelle, enough for 2 people
  • 400g can tomatoes
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • ½ tsp dried oregano
  • ½ tsp balsamic vinegar
  • pinch of sugar
  • salt & pepper
  • 2 tbsp sun-dried tomato pesto
  • 2 tbsp grated parmesan cheese
  • 3 tbsp mascarpone cheese

Method

  1. Heat a little olive oil in a saucepan and add the minced garlic. Fry for a minute and add the tomatoes, oregano, sugar and vinegar. Season with a little salt and freshly ground black pepper. Bring to a bubble and simmer gently for 20 minutes.
  2. Cook your pasta according to the instructions on the packet.
  3. Add the pesto, parmesan and mascarpone and stir to melt the cheese into the sauce. Taste and adjust the seasoning if necessary.
  4. Add the hot pasta to the sauce and make sure the pasta is coated well. Serve with some grated parmesan and a twist of black pepper.

Serves 2.

2 Responses to “Tagliatelle with Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto & Mascarpone”


  1. 1 Cookin' Canuck July 15, 2009 at 4:19 am

    This looks fabulous! I love the creaminess mascarpone cheese adds to a pasta sauce. I like to add a little of the pasta cooking water, which helps to extend the sauce and thicken it (because of the starch in the water).

  2. 2 Sorella May 29, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    I have made this 3 times now and it is really lovely. The first time I accidentally got a bit too much balsamic vinegar in, and it turned out bitter. I thought it was the recipe, and just added loads of cheddar into the sauce instead. The second time I noticed that there was nothing in the recipe which would have made it taste anything else than wonderful. The third time I didn’t have any mascarpone so I just added cheddar, a bit of parmesan and ready whipped cream from a can :P.

    I find this to be really tasty and really, really quick and easy. I would encourage people to try this. It’s a nice extra if you slice a dozen of cherry tomatoes and sprinkle them ontop of the food. The juicyness of the cherrytomatoes goes well with the overall flavour of this dish.

    Here is a picture of what mine looked like;

    http://blueberryfingerprints.blogspot.com/2010/05/how-do-you-know-if-you-are-addicted-to.html


Comments are currently closed.




