Rocket – Harvest Time

As soon as my rocket started thriving I wasted no time and set about it with a scissors. I’ve made two massive salads from it already. It looks a little ‘hacked’ but there’s plenty of new growth coming through, so hopefully, plenty of rocket salads to come. The leaves tasted great but not as peppery as I was expecting; maybe I was too impatient and should have let them grow a little more. I think it needed thinning anyway.

rocket_3

2 Responses to “Rocket – Harvest Time”


  1. 1 Daily Spud July 21, 2009 at 10:51 am

    Well, if it’s anything like my rocket, you may never want for rocket again. Planted some in my garden maybe 6 or 7 years ago and it seeded itself everywhere – it pops up without fail every year. Unfortunately, it was a variety of wild rocket and is super-peppery – actually a bit too peppery for my taste, but can be put to good use in a rocket pesto.

  2. 2 Conor July 21, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    Really? I never knew rocket did that. That’s great news. I’ll have to get a couple of recipes together to cope with the inevitable ‘glut’ then.


Comments are currently closed.




