A Bumper Crop of Basil

Basil - A Bumper Crop

I’m more often described as “ham-fisted” than “green-fingered“. Despite my obvious lack of talent in the garden, I’ve managed to grow a staggering amount of basil in pots on my window sill. A few weeks ago, I got a rush of blood to the head in B&Q and invested in a propagator tray and a packet of basil seeds. Moderation has never been my strong point, so I sowed all of the seeds at once and now I’m left with an obscene amount of  the said herb. I don’t know what variety of basil I’ve got; it’s certainly not the Genovese variety, but I’m hoping it will still taste as good.

I’m determined to use every last leaf, but there’s only so much pesto a man can eat. So what do I do with it all? Here is my short-list of culinary possibilities so far:

2 Responses to “A Bumper Crop of Basil”


  1. 1 Ivan August 11, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    Growing Basil this time of year is great but it will probably slow down about September. If you whizz a fistful of basil up with some goat’s cheese and a few sun-dried tomatoes it makes a great paste for tapas served on a bit of toasted bread or else as a stuffing for chicken like this: http://messy-chef.com/blog/2008/11/chicken-breast-stuffed-with-sun-dried-tomato-basil-and-goats-cheese/#content (forgive the photos but this is tasty)


Comments are currently closed.




