The Best Guacamole

Guacamole 1

I love visiting restaurants when I’m on holiday as they provide great inspiration for kitchen adventures. I was so impressed with the guacamole served at Dos Caminos Mexican restaurant in Las Vegas that I was determined to re-create it when I got home. Handily, they supplied us with the recipe on some souvenir fridge magnets they gave us. However, I’ve toyed with the recipe slightly to include more tomato and fresh coriander.

Unsurprisingly for such a simple dish, the reason this guacamole works is because everything is in correct proportion. Just make sure every ingredient you use is extremely fresh and your guacamole will really sing…

Ingredients

  • 2 ripe avocados, peeled and stoned
  • 1 small red onion, finely chopped
  • 2 ripe tomatoes, seeded and finely chopped
  • 2 red jalapeno/serrano chillies, finely chopped
  • large handful of fresh coriander, chopped
  • 2 limes, juiced
  • sea salt & pepper

Mash the ripe avocados with a fork and gently combine with the rest of the ingredients. Add the lime juice, salt and pepper to taste. You will need plenty of salt to bring out the flavour of the buttery avocados. Serve with some good-quality, plain corn chips. (For goodness sake, don’t allow a “Dorito” to go anywhere near something as good as this…)

Guacamole 2

1 Response to “The Best Guacamole”


  1. 1 Bill August 15, 2010 at 9:08 am

    Yes! Chiles are a must in guacamole and are so often left out. I like a clove or two of garlic in my guac, too.


Comments are currently closed.




